Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Another mug has bought another overheating hijet..!

4 posters

Go down

Another mug has bought another overheating hijet..! Empty Another mug has bought another overheating hijet..!

Post by bristolvanman Wed May 01, 2013 9:48 pm

Hello!
Baaaasically I seem to have made the mistake many others have made.. A month or so I bought one of these marvellous little vans, unknowing it had a pretty bad overheating problem!..
Im hoping to get it road trip-worthy by the summer so I'm here in a desperate attempt to gather some info to try and fix it up myself. especially as I have little mechanical knowledge!
So I'm just putting this out there cheekily hoping someone might be able to help me out when there is nothing i can think of to return the favour!..?
Anyway here is the deal- She's a (1998?) 1.3 hijet.
I'll try and run through the problems from ignition..
Occasionally it's very hard to start.. Takes many revolutions of the engine, especially if it's been sat for a few days and when it does start its very (rough?) unsure how to describe it.. a couple of times you can tell its only firing on one cylinder. this lasts for a few seconds. then the revs rise noticeably for about 30/40 seconds then return to normal. the other day it smelt of un combusted fuel.
Drives absolutely fine, quite a bit of torque for a small van!..
I believe someone must have removed the thermostat as the temp only starts rising (very slowly!) after a few mins of driving. into about 20 mins of constant driving on a hot day it would reach half way up the gauge. After 20 mins it still keeps rising, especially in traffic and falls slightly at high speeds. The fan has been bypassed with a switch which doesn't help things.. After about half an hour to 40/50 mins the needle rises all the way to the right and no matter how constantly you are moving does not fall. eventually it boils.