Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Over heating

3 posters

Go down

Over heating Empty Over heating

Post by Hogroastbbq Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:24 pm

Hi, I'm new to hijets and any issues with them but I know of one... Overheating! I'm writing this whilst sat in a layby in a Bournemouth as my hijet 1300 overheated yet again! Hoping someone can help. Head got done about 3-4 months ago by previous owner. Last week it overheated and then the cap to the plastic water bottle under passenger seat popped off with pressure. I managed to get it home by stopping every few miles to put water in. I changed thermostat and the old one had been removed anyway, I've flushed the radiator and refilled with water and coolant I also put this steelseal in today as it's meant to be good at repairing head gaskets. I've changed both rad caps, took it for a drive and here I am now! The radiator at the front is cold but pipes etc under passenger seat boiling I've got a fan switch but it's not helping. Heaters blow hot and sometimes cold. If I take rad caps off water comes out. I have no idea what the issue could be. Can anyone shed some light ?! Cheers Ben

Hogroastbbq

Back to top Go down

Over heating Empty Re: Over heating

Post by Hogroastbbq Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:17 pm

Just to add to the list when I drove it earlier it was really rough it felt like it was misfiring but when idling it sounds fine.

Hogroastbbq

Back to top Go down

Post by HighlyJetted Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:50 am

Welcome Hogroastbbq

Funny I've just come back from a party with a hog roast, and great it was too!

Your situation is very common I must say, and excuse my somewhat lack of effort to help.... you will find more information about this everywhere across the forum.

Some of it bullshit, some of it great. (both categories will have come from me too!!)

Your van is very repairable, but the devil is in the detail!