Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Time for a change......

4 posters

Go down

Time for a change...... Empty Time for a change......

Post by PFM Fri Sep 20, 2013 7:25 am

As I really enjoy driving the '02 1.3 I bought to replace the '98 998, I'm now thinking of replacing the '95 one I've been using for the past 18 years. Obviously condition of any replacement is the key issue, and as new as I've got the readies for.

With some cars I know some manufacturing years were better than others for quality of build or materials - has that ever applied in Hijet world? Is LPG worth the potential extra hassle at MOT time? Is the 1.4 diesel any good? Any other considerations or should I keep the old 'un?

PFM
Jet Addict

Back to top Go down

Time for a change...... Empty Re: Time for a change......

Post by eddie0303 Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:07 pm

From what I have been informed the diesel is a waste of time PFM . Not a lover of LPG myself so I will be looking at doing a 1.3 to 1.6 transfer in the distant future .

Best of luck

Eddie
eddie0303
eddie0303
Centurion

http://www.emhall-handyman.com

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Fri Sep 20, 2013 7:53 pm

Forget the diesel at all cost. Dreadful thing Peter.

Back to top Go down

Post by HighlyJetted Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:32 pm

That lombardini diesel engine is best left in canal boats and plant equipment.

Won't pull the skin off a hot chocolate, can't get parts for it, noisy, and to top it off they seem to go wrong alot.

1.3 all the way baby, and the LPG is a good addition in my opinion although it does make the coolant system more complicated which isn't a good thing in any way.

It wouldn't be the deal maker to me.

A good rust free van with 1 or 2 owners from new and low miles is what you want.

Worst thing is the road tax on later models, pick your year carefully if you want to save a fair bit of cash.
HighlyJetted
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose