Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hi - I'm a newbie and just bought a petrol / LPG Hijet......

+4
leopard_pagan
8bit-ash
HighlyJetted
tara100
8 posters

Go down

Hi - I'm a newbie and just bought a petrol / LPG Hijet...... Empty Hi - I'm a newbie and just bought a petrol / LPG Hijet......

Post by tara100 Mon Jun 07, 2010 11:07 pm

Hello

I've recently picked up my hijet (which I've named Betty)
I've never owned one before and I find myself laughing constantly when driving it - I read somewhere about going over speed humps like you're on a bucking bronco, and how true is that?! Laughing
She drives lovely and didn't read hot temp wise on the 80 mile journey home (I read they are prone to overheating)
My only gripe is I bought her because she had low mileage, but it wasn't until I did a local journey that I realised why the miles were so low.......A 5 mile journey equates to 0.6 miles on the milometer! I should have spotted this when doing the deal, but I didn't think to watch the dial on the test drive Sad

I do have a couple of questions.....She is a bi-fuelled model, and not knowing much about LPG, I wondered if there is any special attention I should give to that area of Betty? I have had a quickie browse thru the manual, and it says fill up 80% max (doh, how do you know when that's done?)

I have noticed that when driving on LPG and I'm wating at traffic lights etc, there is quite a strong whiff of fuel, but not so with normal petrol driving in it. Is this normal for these vans or should I forget about lighting a ciggy at the lights, and switch back to petrol? Wink

Well those are my queries so far (well apart from how the heck do I fit the roof bars which are sat in the back....I am a mere woman after all!)

Cheers folks!
Tara

Hi - I'm a newbie and just bought a petrol / LPG Hijet...... Betty11
tara100
tara100
Chatterbox

Back to top Go down