Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

General Hijet issues

4 posters

Go down

General Hijet issues Empty General Hijet issues

Post by crikeemikee Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:28 pm

Hi all, rather than posting a whole load of different threads for different issues I thought I would just stick them all in one!
I have just bought a 993cc 1996 Hijet EFI. It is literally the best thing and I love it already, but I print tshirts for a living and know absolutely nothing about cars! So here is a list of all the problems and if anyone has any advice or recommendations that would be greatly appreciated!

1. Steering wheel is on the piss, like if your handlebars are wonky on a push bike!
2. Speedo flicks all over the place and doesnt settle.
3. There is no light behind the speedo/dash so in the dark I can't see anything on there!
4. Sunroof is leaking (I've already read a post about this so will try and fix that.)
5. Passenger sliding door comes off the rails so is unusable. Top rail is dented and damaged so needs replacing?
6. Some of the seals are damaged/leaking so need replacing.
7. Drivers side and boot door panels are missing.
8. Temp gauge sits on cold and doesn't move. Should that worry me?!

Other than that it's a beauty, drives fine! I plan on doing it up a bit, maybe getting some wider wheels for stability then using it to drive my band around in! Smile I'll put some pics up once I'm allowed and not such a newbie! Thanks!!

crikeemikee

http://www.vinosangre.co.uk

Back to top Go down

General Hijet issues Empty Re: General Hijet issues

Post by PFM Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:50 pm

Welcome Mikee, you'll get several replies but our resident expert is on holiday in France I think so his posts are a bit spasmodic which is fair enough. In the meantime I'll give you my humble contribution: