Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Towing with a Hijet????????

+4
Logi
ax16vts
rich the mechanic
8bit-ash
8 posters

Go down

Towing with a Hijet???????? Empty Towing with a Hijet????????

Post by 8bit-ash Sat Nov 05, 2011 9:43 pm

What are peoples opinions legally and practically towing this with the Hijet (1.3)

Towing with a Hijet???????? Picture2-1

Towing with a Hijet???????? Picture1-1

I'm not that good with weight but the total gross weight of the trailer is 750kg.

I think the max towing capacity of the Hijet is 600kg. Can I legally tow this trailer if its not fully laiden?

The trailer itself isn't very big, a little taller than the van but not as wide.
8bit-ash
8bit-ash
Centurion

Back to top Go down

Towing with a Hijet???????? Empty Re: Towing with a Hijet????????

Post by rich the mechanic Sat Nov 05, 2011 9:52 pm

I think that the max towing weight is 85% of the vehicle all up so if you get pulled into a weigh bridge the trailer cannot exceed 85% of the towing vehicle but tow bars should have a rating plate on them as to the vehicle they are to be fitted to and the max weigh they are rated for.

However I made the tow bar set up for my car it was never rated and I towed a caravan that when all was loaded the car did struggle on the inclines that were more than slight and it never let me down and I am fairly sure it was well over weight.

Thinking about it Tuks was looking into a fifth wheel type trailer on a pickup and I think he said the max towed weight was 850kg I think.
rich the mechanic
rich the mechanic
Jet Addict

http://www.thread-bare.biz

Back to top Go down

Post by ax16vts Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:27 pm