Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Took a punt on a cheap Piaggio Porter

3 posters

Go down

Took a punt on a cheap Piaggio Porter Empty Took a punt on a cheap Piaggio Porter

Post by George Sportif Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:56 am

Me and my wife spent a few weeks in a (Subaru I think) micro camper travelling across Japan in spring and absolutely fell in love with it.

Took a punt on a cheap Piaggio Porter Pp210

Since then I have been perusing various sites looking for something suitable for us. I was torn between getting a fully fitted camper, or a van to do myself. I am a carpenter/prop maker so the challenge, as well as being able to control the complete design of it appealed to me. Obviously standard vans can also be a lot cheaper.

After regretfully missing out on a few converted vans/devons, there was an unconverted van with an honest mention of the overheating problem (Which I believe is common? - and may be that requires bleeding which might be a pain, and may be the thermostat? Hopefully not the head gasket :/   )

Anyway, I won the auction blind and I am going to collect this little beauty tomorrow. Got it for £500 and thought it was worth the risk, having not seen it in the flesh or test driven it (Feel a bit crazy doing so, but the price seemed too good to not have a punt!)

Took a punt on a cheap Piaggio Porter Pp110

Want to make it a little bit ridiculous on the outside - probably with a lick of paint and maybe upgraded wheels. My wife is a huge fan of Kerouac and the merry pranksters, so we have already decided to name it 'Even Further' in a progressive homage to 'Further' - their bus.