Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

fitting a bench seat in a Hijet

3 posters

Go down

fitting a bench seat in a Hijet Empty fitting a bench seat in a Hijet

Post by jimbib123 Mon May 03, 2010 8:49 pm

Hi Guys

Newbie here!

I'm looking at buying myself a hijet so i can get to the coast for surfs more often. My dilemma is that I want to be able to sleep in the back sometimes but when i'm just going for the day i'd like to be able to take more than one mate.

Does anyone know how you'd go about fitting a folding bench seat in the back of a panel van or if you could remove the seats from the MPV version and put one in there (maybe on rails)? i'm thinking if i could get a folding seat that i could make a platform with a piano kinda hinge bit that could fold down over them when they weren't in use in order to make a sleeping platform....any view/ideas welcome! also anyone know how that would affect the insurance/legality of the van?

Cheers
James

jimbib123

Back to top Go down

Post by rich the mechanic Mon May 03, 2010 9:58 pm

Hi welcome, if you are looking to buy you may be better off getting the MPV or ex-mobility one like SkippyGLI has and blacking the windows out as if you add extra seats to a van you will have to get it certified or checked at a ministry centre not sure on the details for change of use and I dont think the vans have the reinforced mounting bolt holes where as if you have the seats to start with and take them out and/or put them back its a different kettle of fish, we have gone this way so we have three seats for going to events with the stall and stock or like today when we had all 6 in to take the lad and his mates to town. Hope you get a jet and join us regularly. Very Happy
rich the mechanic
rich the mechanic
Jet Addict

http://www.thread-bare.biz

Back to top Go down

fitting a bench seat in a Hijet Empty Re: fitting a bench seat in a Hijet