Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Split charge system not charging

4 posters

Go down

Split charge system not charging Empty Split charge system not charging

Post by leo_h Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:33 pm

Hello everyone!
Right I've had a comprehensive search but can't find much on this issue! Recently I installed a split charge system with a voltage sensing relay on my EFI 1.3. The install seemed easier than expected (i'm a novice at electrics) with the hardest part finding where to mount the leisure battery. All seemed well for a month or so, but now I realise the leisure battery isn't charging properly and slowly runs out. Crying or Very sad
The alternator provides 14.4 direct from the + on it, but at the starter battery end it only receives 13.5 ish! Is this normal? I traced the loom from the starter battery and the heavy red wire goes direct to the starter motor (makes sense) but I struggled to find where/how the wire from the alternator to the battery goes, and think it goes into an even bigger bit of the loom into and under the dash!! Shocked
I would imagine it goes into the engine management or something, which then switches it down??
Anyone know what's going on? and if there is something I can do?

Thanks for your help in advance guys!
Ps. here's my ghetto leisure battery holder!! Very Happy
Split charge system not charging Lbatte11

Split charge system not charging Lbatte12
leo_h
leo_h

Back to top Go down

Split charge system not charging Empty Re: Split charge system not charging

Post by Raggy Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:55 pm