Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ANOTHER OVERHEATING HI JET PLEASE HELP!!

2 posters

Go down

ANOTHER OVERHEATING HI JET PLEASE HELP!! Empty ANOTHER OVERHEATING HI JET PLEASE HELP!!

Post by ashsteel Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:07 am

Hi there,

So last October I picked up a 1.3 EFI. Lovely.

About 6 weeks ago I was on a journey back to Liverpool from Southport when I hear a loud 'pop!' and then a bubbling sound from beneath the passenger seat. When I pull over, I see that the lid on the overflow tank has popped off and the coolant in there is boiling over.

I get home and look it up, learning that over heating is no uncommon fault with the hi jets. Seeing that there is plenty of literature and this amazing forum on the subject I decide to roll up my sleeves and have a go at fixing it. DISCLAIMER: I'm quite handy with some tools, but I am by NO MEANS a mechanic! Always been curious to learn the basics of mechanics, now it seems I have no choice!

Anyway, back to the van, here's what I did:

Firstly, I bled and refilled the coolant system and checked all the hose pipes etc. The problem persists and gets worse with each journey.
At this time it seemed that the heat never got as far as the radiator. In fact it seems that the heat was not being carried further than the cap by the expansion tank. It's around this point I found a great guide on the problem on this site. So I buy a new cap - as recommended by the guide - in fact I bought two as they're only cheap and figured the radiator cap may be buggered too.
This got the heat to the radiator, but it still wasn't heating up.
I treated the system with K-seal in case there was any leaks (I did what it said but no idea if I needed it or if it has made any difference).