Micro Van Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

strut for s85

Go down

strut for s85 Empty strut for s85

Post by gazza01 Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:23 am

Hi all. I have a 98 1.3 efi van s85 which I have some issues with a groaning strut and rather than try to find individual parts i am going to replace the entire strut with a used one from a breaker. There is one advertised at a reasonable price. It only says daihatsu hijet 1.3 front right strut.no year or any other info. I have sent a message but have not yet received a reply. My question is, if it is a 1.3 hijet strut, could it still be the wrong one for my van? I am new to the van and am still finding my way. Thanks.

gazza01
Clubman

Back to top Go down

strut for s85 Empty Re: strut for s85

Post by Guest Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:42 am

Technically Gazza they are handed. The little bracket that holds the brake pipe is slightly angled or tilted. This is easily sorted with an adjustable spanner with the Jaws closed up to the thickness of the metal. If it is different then just a slight tweak with the adjustables forwards or backwards and job done.

As regards oil it's up to you with how much you want to spend. I use Semi Synthetic oil 10/40 in my MPV and have always put a can of Wynn's Supercharge or Oil Treatment directly into the Oil Filter. It is so thick and gooey that I put the can on a radiator first to make it much more easier to tip into the Filter. But the rest of my vehicles I have for 45 years usually bought the cheapest available and changed it every 4-5 thousand miles. Keeps the engine cleaner that way.

But I have just recently started using ZX1 Oil Additive again and it is amazing stuff. See my post     Is this filter really worth £20 ??